Reviews

From Our Guests

Min Tsuboi
I hosted a dinner party of 15 guests and was very pleased with the whole experience! The food was delicious, the setting was perfect for our group size and the staff was great! Thank you so much! I definitely plan to dine there again, and am glad to know about the venue for future group dinners.

Edna Mascreen
Great food, loved the ambience and amazing service. Will certainly go there again!

Melissa Yuan
Fantastic food and service, and a nice ambiance. Highly recommend the Hunkar Begendi- really delicious lamb! (Picture is of the chicken shish).

Marissa Schaeffer
Engin and the team at Uskudar put together a beautiful dinner for my Mother in Law’s Birthday last night. They helped us arrange a family style menu, were incredibly accommodating with dietary restrictions, and even had fresh flowers and a birthday card for her when we arrived at the restaurant! The food was delicious, fresh, there was variety for everyone, and the service was lovely. Highly recommend for a drop in dinner or for a private event!

Conor V
Food was amazing. I could come here just for the bread and humus!! The tirdu dish was amazing. The lamb was so soft and flavorful. Highly recommend!

nazish abdullah
I just loved this place. They are very fast and prices are cheap. The menu is extensive. The two course lunch is amazing. Waiting for my next visit!

Jeff Nobel
Great food, beautiful NY space with character, and the staff are all incredibly friendly and attentive. The Original Room was a perfect spot for a 20+ person private birthday celebration dinner, and it’s always a great place to stop in for dinner. Very much recommended!

David Moskowitz
Outstanding food. Some of the best red lentil soup I’ve had. Also try the chicken with artichokes & the moussaka. Side salad was chunky, not lettuce. Tomatoes, cucumbers & more.

Karen Kaufman
Large professional group dinner recently held at Uskudar. Excellent food and service. Highly recommended!

Urooj Azam
Great food, excelled service!

marian daniel
Good food and nice place

Anthony Durand
Great food ! The bread was also good and the service was amazing! Friendly staff

Isa Saiti
Delicious food & beautiful atmosphere with beautiful people 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Amazing Staff

Marco Veissid
Wonderful food, friendly, helpful and attentive staff.

Jeigh Hall
What a spectacular Turkish food experience! I really loved the Borek to start and the Garlic Chicken came out in the perfect portion and it’s savory seasons paired perfectly with the Sauvignon Blanc . Service was spot on and friendly. I’ll definitely be back.

Max Png
No complaints- reasonable portions, reasonable prices and a good selection of turkish food

Leslie Strassberg
Shhh don’t tell anyone how great this little gem is

Muneeb Hussain
Quaint restaurant located on the upper east side. Great food, good service, and peaceful atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Necator Nimrod
love it love it love it
Such warm, friendly atmosphere. Food is wonderful… oh and the bread they bring you… so amazing. Waitresses are very friendly and accommodating. The guys who do the cooking (I think it is mostly guys, but I may be mistaken, in that case please forgive me) take lots of pride in their creations, and are a delight to talk to. I first went here after reading a review on Yelp, and have been back several times, even brought here my colleagues and a applicants we were interviewing for some new positions. They enjoyed it as well. Come here, you definitely won’t regret it!!! Oh, and yes, there are both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes available.

Guillermo Lucerofabbi
Very cool place with lovely staff.

Court Passant
Yummy food. Small restaurant. Great service. Highly recommended. The chicken sish is the bomb.

Keith Longmore
The good is well prepared, plentiful and the staff is attentive

Naim Osmanaj
Amazing food.

Jacob Beri
tarama and liverArnavut are great starters

Michael Pinker
We have eaten here quite a few years, and each time, lunch or dinner, we have been very pleased with the cuisine, low-key atmosphere, and top-notch service of the small staff. We are always made to feel welcome, and at lunch the chef himself often also serves as waiter and is as kind and patient as he can be. For excellent value, superior cooking, and a clean, neat milieu, Uskudar is hard to beat.

gary nielsen
One word…delicious.

guangyu huang
(Translated by Google) Exotic, good
(Original) 异国风味,不错

A Google User
New york sokaklarında bir Türk restoranına rastlamak hele de semtimin adıyla adaş bir mekan görmek harika : )

Alexander Dane
Nice place for Turkish food, restaurant is a bit small.

Mike Zollner
Good place for lamb made how you like. Service was nice and they were kind enough to give me vegetables instead of rice. They even make their own bread and hot sauce.

Monica 夏
I went to Uskudar for a birthday dinner on a groupon purchase. What a comfortable little spot!!! It’s always nice to find the tiny gems! The place is very clean and service is quick!!! …More

Laura Kelm
Not your usual kebob joint, with unusual savory dishes. The Chicken Artichoke is a particular favorite–how do they infuse chicken with such a strong artichoke flavor? Small and intimate, can be a bit loud when it’s crowded.

Lee Goldberg
Amazing food. Absolutely delicious pide bread and lentil soup. Great for delivery – food always arrives quickly.

D Nguyễn
I’ve always loved Turkish cuisine especially after visiting Istanbul. I recommend for those who haven’t to do so but that is for another website. This small cute restaurant on the UES was our destination after an event in the neighborhood. We went for the stuffed grape leaves and Ciger (liver) to start. Both were very good. As for entrée Chicken Adana and Hunkar Begendi(lamb) was both delicious. The chicken on the skewer was moist and tender and seasoned nicely. The lamb in a stew of eggplant and tomatoes was hearty and flavorful. We’ll be returning if we are ever in the neighborhood and wanting a good Turkish meal. Heck, might just buy a ticket on Turkish Air.

Mar 6, 2017 Katya C., Yelp
Just ordered and food was super yummy! Their lunch special is awesome! 4 course meal for $20! It lasts me for 2 days and is so satisfying. My coworkers are always drooling over when I order! Highly recommend! You can’t go wrong.

Feb 20, 2017 Micky M., Yelp
I went here on Saturday night and got the Mediterranean platter with bottle of house wine deal. It was delicious and the staff were all really nice. I recommend if you’re looking for an easy low-key restaurant with good food.

Feb 20, 2017 Amanda I., Yelp
I loved it here! The waitress was the friendliest, prettiest, sweetest person ever and she was really helpful and great. The dish I ordered was also something I’ve never tried before but it was amazing. Lamb cubes in a yogurt sauce with fried bread cubes under it and that great buttery rice with angel hair (just like my mother makes it). It was so hearty.

Feb 18, 2017 Oguzhan A., Yelp
I would like to say thank you all guys in uskudar restaurant. I came over here with my wife and friends and tasted some turkish food, all meals were delicious, especially İbrahim chef is a brilliant people. Thanks again guys, if we go nyc again we would like to see and eat something again.

Jan 14, 2017 Amelia N., Yelp
Highly recommend. Halal. Really moist meats. Great service. Get the chefs mixed grill to sample a wide range of Turkish meat. Includes ground Lamb kabab, ground chicken kabab, a piece of lamb, a piece of chicken and a beef patty. You really can’t go wrong with whatever you order at this place!

Feb 4, 2017 Amanda S., Yelp
Wow! Best deal in all NYC! Only $19 for a four course meal for lunch and massive! I took home enough for dinner tonight and lunch tomorrow! Appetizer is large – I had the fylo stuffed with spinach and feta and it came with 4! (Took home 2.) The salad was also a large bowl! Also very good similar to Greek salad.

Oct 11, 2016 Kate O., Yelp
I have silly food sensitivities (dairy free, gluten free, low fodmap, paleo, SIBO) and this place was very considerate and kind. the customer service went above and beyond. the food was simple since i can’t eat many adventurous things but what i did have was perfect. the cost is a bit pricey i think so maybe save this dinner for a nice date. Highly recommend the patlican (like baba ganoush) and the dolma… for gluten free and dairy free snacksers, ask for cucumber slices instead of bread! but damn that bread looked so warm and soft and crusty and curvy in alllll the right ways… haha can you tell how desperately i miss my gluten fix!? the grilled chicken shish was simple and yum.

Dec 25, 2016 Daje2, TripAdvisor
I was locked out of my apartment and had to wait until my husband got home. I decided to go to Uskudar for dinner while I waited. Best decision! I waited for 40 minutes before my husband joined and the staff did not bother me at all as I sipped on wine. They were incredibly understanding which I appreciated. When my husband arrived. We ordered the sausage appetizer and Shepard salad to start – both of which were excellent. For the entree, I ordered the Manti dish and highly recommend it. It comes with rice and is incredibly good. I can’t wait to come back.

Dec 18, 2016 jmm341, TripAdvisor
We have eaten here several times over the past few years when we visit New York. We have never been disappointed. The lamb is superb; this time we had the tandir, which was moist and well seasoned. Other favorites are the koban salad and, of course for dessert, the creme caramel and rice pudding. They also have some good Turkish wines.

Oct 30, 2016 NEEL K., TripAdvisor
Excellent food. Very friendly staff that go out of their way to feel at home. Celebrated my 60th birthday in style. Attentive staff. Highly recommended.

Mar 9, 2017 lupaglupa, TripAdvisor
The new 2nd Avenue Subway stop lands you close to Uskudar, a narrow storefront on 2nd Ave. with some great Turkish cuisine. The menu has a wide variety of choices, mostly reflecting traditional Turkish cooking. Everything we were served was fresh and well seasoned. The eggplant spread appetizer was a stand out with a terrific smoky taste. The lunch menu has a terrific deal with an appetizer/entree combination. We were stuffed and happy when we left!

amyloidbeta (New York Area)
>Dined on November 25, 2017
Attentive service, good food. Fixed price dinner was excellent in quality and quantity.

Goodeats (New York Area)
Dined on November 19, 2017
Been going since it opened. Consistently tasty, good value, lovely service.

Maggie (New York Area)
Dined on November 9, 2017
We had dined since we heard it was authentic Turkish restaurant. We enjoyed so much that we returned right away!

OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on August 5, 2017
Love this place! Delicious food in a hard to find in Manhattan quiet mellow environment: no loud music and no typical ‘Saturday night restaurant’ noise. We tasted appetizers, main courses and dessert. Everything was so fresh and yummy, and very on a budget! Pleasantly surprised by the taste of Turkish wine, and overall lightness of the cuisine! Highly recommended.

OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
Dined on July 28, 2017
Excellent food and attentive service. Loved the selection of Turkish wines.

VIPJGCrim (New York Area)
Dined on July 1, 2017
Uskadar has delicious Turkish food. The service is always friendly. It is a great neighborhood place.

VIPJeannoel (New York Area)
Dined on June 4, 2017
Uskudar is one of the best neighborhood place offering high quality and very genuine Turkish, Mediterranean food. Strongly recommend the Lamb or chicken adana as well as sharing some hummus as an appetizer with the excellent flat bread cooked in the restaurant. Definitely the place to go when in the upper east side.

VIPOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on May 6, 2017
What a fantastic home-feel restaurant. The staff is polite and pleasant. The wine selection is good. The food is delcious! A must go!

SGAN (New York Area)
Dined on May 5, 2017
This Turkish restaurant has an excellent menu. The service is attentive and the staff friendly.

VIPrevs (New York Area)
Dined on April 21, 2017
Terrific restaurant in every respect. I highly recommend this place for foodies and everybody else for that matter. Food, service, atmosphere were all great; and good place for couples or groups with different dietary needs because lots of great vegan dishes along with non-vegan.

OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
Dined on March 18, 2017
A neighborhood gem. Always outstanding and reasonable prices.

VIPJudithK (New York Area)
Dined on March 5, 2017
This is a delightful restaurant with excellent Turkish food. Everything is fresh and well-prepared. The service is excellent. It is efficient and friendly. All plates have lovely presentation. We enjoyed are time here and will be back!

OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on February 23, 2017
The food is fantastic and portions ample. The staff is incredibly warm and friendly. I came here with family for my birthday. They were so kind and gifted me with a lovely luck bracelet. I felt very special indeed! It was a delicious and delightful experience all around!

RobertR (New York Area)
Dined on February 20, 2017
Excellent food. Much better option than other restaurants in area.

VIPBarbara (New York Area)
Dined on February 13, 2017
I’ve eaten Uskudar’s fabulous Turkish food for 20 years. The food is terrific and always nicely cooked. Highly recommend.

VIPBarbara (New York Area)
Dined on February 3, 2017
I have eaten at Uskudar for 20 years and have never been disappointed. Food is excellently cooked and it’s of high quality. Highly recommend.

OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on January 16, 2017
This is one of the best UES restaurants, period. Food is fresh, well-done and delicious. Staff are informed and so courteous. It makes a difference when the owner is on-site and tending to his or her business. It shows.

Foodie22 (New York Area)
Dined on January 11, 2017
Our local. Delicious food, good menu and attentive service. Cozy interior.

OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on December 29, 2016
I’ve ordered takeout from this restaurant(which was delicious) But never ate here.
The service was great. In the middle of dinner, I was unexpectedly called back home before our main course arrived. The restaurant was very understanding and kind enough to wrap up our dinner with extra bread and send us on our way. The food was excellent, service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and gracious. I’ll definitely return and hopefully be able to relax and enjoy next time.

OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on December 25, 2016
I came here with my partner for Christmas lunch and it was a wonderful experience. The food was beautiful and reasonably priced as well. As we came from Australia, the owner organized a special Turkish champagne and Turkish delight for us. It was charming and had inspired us to visit Turkey!

VIPOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
Dined on November 26, 2016
Delicious. Humus , maruli salad. Great price fix Too

CPS1 (Los Angeles)
Dined on November 17, 2016
As always, the food is excellent….we go there often and the quality and consistency are always great.

VIPSusie (New York Area)
Dined on November 4, 2016
Uskudar is a tiny place, almost hidden to the passerby — but ever so worthy of discovery. The Turkish dishes are authentic, varied, and uniformly delicious — a great change from the seemingly interchangeable menus of so many restaurants. The service is kind, the decor simple but cozy, and the atmosphere lively enough but without endangering conversation. Uskudar’s generously-portioned dishes offer great value, too. We plan to return soon — and often!

OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
Dined on November 3, 2016
Very Nice variety of very well prepared Turkish food..the servers are very friendly and welcoming .. and they make Manti which not all Turkish restaurants do!

OpenTable Diner (Denver)
Dined on October 29, 2016
Excellent place to celebrate special occasions!!!

VIPRunner2 (New York Area)
Dined on October 12, 2016
Superb service and outstanding food–a neighborhood gem on all counts.

Gail
food was excellent and very fairly priced

Julie
Great food delivered quickly and hot. Love this place. Will definitely order delivery again.

ADAM
Great and fast. There lunch special is a great deal!

Marguerite
Always great food, quick delivery, reliable service.

Mehmet
great service great food!

Adam
I love the red lentil soup and hummus. The chicken garlic is a simple classic.

charlotte
Consistently amazing, every time. My delivery got here EARLY and it was hot and delicious. The best Turkish food in New York.

Robert
Food was piping hot on arrival. The portions were quite large and came with a delicious loaf of warm (that’s right, warm), fresh bread. It wasn’t cheap but with my order I got what I paid for.

Karel
Chicken Adana is absolutely delicious!

Scott
The best Turkish food I’ve had in NYC. I taste the best of Istanbul every time.

Jerry
Expensive but worth it. Got 2 meals out of, so maybe not so bad.

Artemis
delicious food, great delivery!

NANCY
Great food, as usual!

Austin
Simply the best Turkish food around. Nothing compares.

Austin
This place has THE BEST Turkish food in the city. Mic drop.

Gerald
Food is always perfect, delicious. My favorite Turkish restaurant.

Joy Ann
The food is consistently excellent each and every time I order.

Kristin
The Lamb Kabobs are perfect every time and delicious.

Cenk
best turkish/middle-eastern in the area. fast delivery. lentil soup is just like my mother’s. i am turkish.

Barbara
Always very good food plus fast delivery. One of my favorite neighborhood restaurants.

Adam
very good Turkish.

Lisa
Really great food, although, slightly expensive!

Stephen
Fantastic food. And they got here so quick, we weren’t even back to the apartment. Very responsive on the re-delivery. Great experience.

Brian
Generous proportions, very tasty

Max
I have ordered from this place many times and been to the restaurant several times. Delivery is quick, food is always good, great hummus and the bread it comes with is usually warm and very good.